IWC Notice: Christmas Recycling Roadshow

FESTIVE TOUR FOR RECYCLING AND WASTE

A festive reduce, reuse, recycle roadshow will be visiting venues across the Island from next Monday (13 November).

The tour of supermarkets, libraries and town centres is aimed at encouraging recycling and reducing waste produced over the festive period.

“The council, in partnership with Amey, is hoping residents can find some useful tips on how to reduce Christmas waste and find out what typical Christmas trimmings can and can’t be recycled. We are encouraging residents to think before they buy, from choosing rechargeable batteries, to recyclable wrapping paper,” said Councillor Murwill, Cabinet member for waste management.

“We all know Christmas comes at a price but if we think about the packaging we buy, that price doesn’t have to come at a cost to our environment and community.”

The first event begins on 13 November and the tour takes in many of the Island’s main supermarkets including Tesco, ASDA, Morrisons and Iceland and local libraries. Town centres in Newport and Ryde will also be visited.

Visitors can pick up a handy leaflet with all the information inside or can download a poster at www.iwight.com/waste .

The tour will also provide information on how to reduce food waste, such as buying loose vegetables, using up leftovers and avoiding unnecessary food packaging; as well as helpful reminders on what goes where in recycling and waste.

The full list of venues, dates and exhibition times can be found below:

DATE VENUE TIME
Monday 13 November Newport Library 10am to 3pm
Tuesday 14 November Morrisons, Newport 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 15 November Niton Library 9am to 12pm
Wednesday 15 November Ventnor Library 1pm to 3.30pm
Thursday 16 November East Cowes Library 1.30pm to 4pm
Friday 17 November Sandown Library 9am to 12pm
Friday 17 November Shanklin Library 1.30pm to 4pm
Monday 20 November Freshwater Library 10am to 12pm
Wednesday 22 November Bembridge Library 9.30am to 12.30pm
Wednesday 22 November Ryde Library 1.30pm to 4.30pm
Friday 24 November Newport Library 10am to 3pm
Monday 27 November Cowes Library 10am to 12.30pm
Friday 1 December B & Q, Newport 10am to 3pm
Monday 4 December Tesco Extra, Ryde 9.30am to 4pm
Wednesday 6 December Newport Town Centre (St Thomas Square) 10am to 2pm
Friday 8 December Freshwater Co-Op 10am to 4pm
Monday 11 December ASDA 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 12 December Ryde Town Centre (outside Co-Op) 10am to 2pm
Wednesday 13 December Iceland, Ryde 11am-4pm
Thursday 14 December Newport Town Centre (St James’ Square) 10am – 2pm